Deegee and the Doctors :)

Ob Gyn

I am one of many people who are afraid of doctors. After I got married, I did not agree to seeing a doctor in preparation for pregnancy. In fact, even if I already suspected I was pregnant, I refused to buy the home-pregnancy kit for fear that if I confirm my pregnancy, Judd, my husband will bring me to see a doctor πŸ™‚

eventually, I did not have a choice since my friend “donated” a pregnancy kit, so I had to use it … and confirmed that I was pregnant. It was only then that we asked around for a good Ob-Gyn. Other than the requirement that the Ob should be “friendly” and “understanding” to one who is afraid of doctors, I was also looking for a doctor who is supportive of breastfeeding, having been exposed to breastfeeding at work.

Fortunately for me, the Ob who was referred by my father-in-law (DR. ARLENE RICARTE BRAVO) lived up to my personal standards. Moreover, she was the one who advised me to prepare to breastfeed … even if I didn’t ask her about it. That gave me the sign that she was the one πŸ™‚

My doctor prepared me for my first pregnancy by making sure i was following her orders. Being more afraid of getting sick and being confined in a hospital as well as affecting the health of my baby, I opted to give up some of the finer things in life [chocolates, softdrinks, junk foods, etc … except for very RARE instances wherein I could not resist a SIP of sprite or a chunk of chocolate:)].

When I was nearing my due date, Dr. Bravo informed me that my breastmilk might not come out right after giving birth, but assured me that even if i won’t have milk for the first two to three days, there will not be any problem since my baby will still be full from what he ate while inside my tummy and he will not be affected by the lack of milk, as long as I make him suck my breasts … both to stimulate the release of milk and to satisfy my baby’s need to suck.

True enough, my milk did not come out right after I gave birth. In fact, it did not come out until the third day. I don’t know if this helped, but after I complained to Dr. Bravo and she made me drink Natalac capsules three times for two weeks, I got a good supply of milk. so, you may wana ask your own doctors about this.

Pediatrician

I had to change Earl’s pediatrician after we were discharged from the hospital, but fortunately for me, both doctors are also breastfeeding advocates. Earl’s current doctor, DR. IRENE BALUYOT, is a very active breastfeeding advocate. In fact, whenever we will go to her clinic, we will see moms breastfeeding. For me, this goes to show that the doctor encourages breastfeeding.

In fact, just last month, I asked Dr. Baluyot if I can stop breastfeeding already since I don’t have much milk anymore and Earl prefers solids over milk nowadays. However, she discouraged me from stopping, and in fact, encouraged me and told me that the decrease in the supply is normal and to strive to continue to give Earl breastmilk until he is two years old. So until now, I still am breastfeeding πŸ™‚

I cannot really remember the specific instructions or guidelines on breastfeeding that Dr. Baluyot gave me. Due to the many books and internet articles that I read and the advice of many people, I cannot now recall where or from whom I got useful information. πŸ™‚

All I can say is that the support of both doctors, in addition to the support of my family, relatives, friends, officemates and boss, pushed me to pursue my breastfeeding advocacy and continue giving Earl breastmilk until now. πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

